Scene 7 – The endscene

Responsibilities for scene 7

  • Animation
  • Layout and environment creation
  • asset modelling
  • asset texturing
  • camera
  • lighting

Animation

I am not a massively experienced animator however considering the amount of animation we needed to do for this project I happily said that I would take on as much as necessary while balancing creating the environments for the scenes. Scene 7 was one of the scenes I was required to animate. I had to work fairly quickly and didn’t have as much time on it as I would have liked as, while I was working on it I was also creating the environment for scenes 2 and 4. so finding time for both was tricky.

I think I did an ok job but it’s not really my best work, nor is it what I do.

 

Playblast –

 

Rendered (PRE COMPOSITION) – 

 

Layout, composition for scene 7

So for scene 7 I was able to use the same environment as the one I had created for scene 4 in which the character discover the house. I decided to use the forest around the front of the house as my location for the scene. ( Where the green circle is below). I couldn’t ust jump straight in however and had to move around assets and set up a new stage for each shot to look good. I found somewhere where they could be framed and the illusion of lush forest could be preserved.

 

scene 4

 

COMPOSITION

The below shots illustrate how I worked out where all my cameras would be. I based these off our storyboards and rough animatic and so was able to get a pretty good idea of how each one would look.

 

 

 

Lighting for scene 7

Next step was to light scene 7, meaning that I would need to refer back to our colour script. As it’s the end of the film we want the hues to be blues and greens, much more subdued after the previous red tones. Its the winding down section of the story. The blue/green should symbolise the peace.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment